Limitless unveil new lineup

After missing out on ECL, the team has undergone a shakeup.

Limitless have announced the squad that will be representing the organization for the upcoming season of ESEA Advanced. The only remnants of the Limitless team that competed in Season 40 retained in this new squad are Dave "seziwana" Schrage and Devin "AtomiK" Ferrel. Those two are joined by former Levitate player Aidan "Feral" Wood, former InControl player Andrew "Andrew" Burrell, and Austin "austin_" Meadows.

Limitless opted to make changes after a lackluster end to their run in Advanced in Season 40. A solid fourth-place finish in the Advanced playoffs booked Limitless a ticket to relegation, putting the team within striking distance of returning to ECL. Unfortunately for Limitless, this was not to be, as the squad got thoroughly trounced by BHOP and Bad News Bears, an anti-climatic end to their respectable Advanced campaign.

Missing out on ECL led to a slew of changes for the team, seeing the departure of Bradley "Slugy" Kohler, Matthew "Mirth" Mudrinic, and Michael "Millz" Millsaps. With the exit of the trio from Limitless, AtomiK announced that he and seziwana would be rebuilding the roster around themselves heading into the next season of Advanced.

The first of the three additions to the lineup is Feral, who most recently played for Levitate in ESEA Advanced Season 39. During his time with Levitate, he helped the team to a solid 10-4 regular-season record, locking in a playoffs spot for the squad. In playoffs the team made a premature exit, getting knocked down to the lower bracket immediately by Davenport University, and beating Unjustified before ultimately being eliminated by YeniCherry. After this, Feral chose to part ways with Levitate, opting to not play Season 40 due to educational obligations. Feral joining Limitless marks his first time back on the server in over four months.

Andrew makes his way to Limitless after a lengthy tenure with InControl, a team that performed quite well on LAN but struggled to carry this success into league play. Andrew's most notable achievements with that team include LAN victories at both Fragadelphia 16: The Block and Fragadlephia 16: Chicago. In ESEA Advanced Season 40, InControl posted a solid 10-4 regular-season record but fell short in playoffs after defeats at the hands of UYU and Limitless.

The next player, austin_, joins Limitless after a four-season stint with Cyberstorm. During this time, austin_ helped the team go from ESA Open in Season 37, to reaching Advanced by Season 40. In Advanced, the team were not as impressive as in lower divisions, putting up a middling 6-8 regular-season record. Cyberstorm participated in several Cash Cups as well but came up with similarly lackluster showings.

The final piece of the puzzle is coach Taylor "ioRascal" Hays, who previously worked with ECL/Premier level teams such as Detonate and Rise. It is worth noting that ioRascal and austin_ have worked together in the past, as ioRascal coached Cyberstorm during the squad's time in Open in Season 37.

The new Limitless lineup is:

  • United States Dave "seziwana" Schrage

  • United States Devin "AtomiK" Ferrel

  • New Zealand Aidan "Feral" Wood

  • United States Andrew "Andrew" Burrell

  • United States Austin "austin_" Meadows

  • United States Taylor "ioRascal" Hays (Coach)

This fresh Limitless squad has already made its debut, with early exits in both IEM Dallas Open Qualifiers. The team will be looking to improve on those results before their opening match in ESEA Advanced Season 41, set to start on April 25th.

Also read

You must be logged in to add a comment.