ESEA increase size cap of MDL division for Season 33; announce January 30th start date

The division will now feature up to 21 teams to accommodate all of the squads who were not invited to EPL.

ESEA have informed that the number of team slots for MDL will be increased for Season 33 to guarantee a spot for all MDL and ex-EPL teams. Additionally, ESEA have scheduled the start of ESEA MDL Season 33 for January 30th.

For North America, this means the division could expand to feature at most 21 teams as Envy, eUnited, Riot Squad, Singularity, Swole Patrol, and Triumph are all eligible for spots in MDL, although it is currently unknown if all six teams intend to play in the league.

With the change in the size of the division, ESEA did not respond to a request on comment whether the league would still run a round-robin format as a result of the extra matches that would need to be played. Additionally, it is currently undecided if the division will remain permanently expanded or will be eventually decreased back to 18 teams.

Additionally, ESEA have announced that have they extended registration for all MDL teams until 2:00 PM EST on January 29th. This change was implemented to give all teams in the division an equal opportunity to add players and coaches to their roster without the usual restriction on adding more than four players per season. 

As a result, the complete team list for Season 33 could be:

United States Envy United States eUnited
United States Riot Squad United States Singularity
United States Swole Patrol United States Triumph
United States Rugratz United States Chaos
Brazil oNe United States Divine
United States New England Whalers United States Monstars
United States Mythic Canada LiViD
United States Big Frames United States Thunder Logic
United States Thunder Logic United States ex-iNTACT
Canada Oceanus United States Station7
United States Asuna's Anime Aimers  

You must be logged in to add a comment.